Brentano Quartet

Two centuries of quartet repertoire, as well as very old and very new music.


String Quartet No. 3
Béla Bartók

String Quartet No. 3
James MacMillan

String Quartet No. 14 in D minor
"Death and the Maiden"
Franz Schubert

Special Deals

Image Not Found.

10% Discount on adult tickets and double points at door!



Friday, May 1, 2015 - 8:00 pm - Brooks Hall at Holy Cross



A truly spectacular performance, and here is the review by Jonathan Blumhofer for the T&G

SOLD OUT - TICKETS NO LONGER ON SALE (please call 508-754-3231 for more information)

Tickets: Adult $45, Student $15, Youth $5

Please join us for a free pre-concert Talk by Prof. Jessica Waldoff in Brooks Hall at 7 PM.

Brentano Quartet will be working with Holy Cross students during the day of concert.

Since its inception in 1992, the Brentano String Quartet has appeared throughout the world to popular and critical acclaim. Within a few years of its formation, it garnered the first Cleveland Quartet Award and the Naumburg Chamber Music Award; and in 1996 the Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center invited them to be the inaugural members of Chamber Music Society Two, a program which was to become a coveted distinction for chamber groups and individuals.

The Quartet had its first European tour in 1997, and was honored in the U.K. with the Royal Philharmonic Award for Most Outstanding Debut at London’s Wigmore Hall. It served as the hall’s Quartet-in-residence in the 2000-01 season. In recent years, the Quartet has traveled widely, appearing in the world's most prestigious venues all over the United States and Canada, in Europe, Japan and Australia. The group has been named Quartet In Residence at Yale School of Music beginning in Fall 2014.


"Perfection may be an impossible goal in art, as in life, but the Brentano comes close.... The performance was supple and sweeping... a collaboration of intense cohesion, which allowed the music to soar and sing as if it were being performed for the first time."
Cleveland Plain Dealer

Program Notes

Please click HERE for a PDF containing program notes for Bartok's String Quartet No. 3 and Schubert's Death and the Maiden (featured in this performance) compiled by members of the Brentano Quartet.


About the Artists

Visit the website

On YouTube

Beethoven Op. 133, Grosse Fuge

About the Program

Schubert String Quartet no. 14

Season & FLEX Passes Now Available!

Pick 4 events or all 17! Get the best seats in the house
at the best prices.