Music Worcester Announces Winners of Young Artist Competition 2016

May 10, 2016

Music Worcester Announces Winners
Young Artist Competition 2016


WORCESTER - May 9, 2016
For Immediate Release
Contact Midge Hamilton


Worcester - Music Worcester is pleased to announce the results of this week’s Young Artist Competition, which was held on May 4th and May 5th at Alden Hall on the WPI campus.  The results of both the Junior Division and Senior Division are listed below.  The Young Artist Competition is held each Spring and is open to Worcester County student musicians in middle and high school. Performance is of classical repertoire on symphonic or band instruments.  Cash prizes are awarded as well as performance opportunities during the following year.  The Music Guild Prize is awarded at their annual luncheon and student performance in May.

Prizes awarded are given by The Music Guild of Music Worcester and by the Greater Worcester Community Foundation from the Stubblebine Fund.  More information on this and other Music Worcester community engagement programs is available at

 List of winners, their instrument and teacher, and winner’s town of residence:

Junior Division, May 4

 ·         1st Place: Justin Wang, Northborough, piano student of Helena Vesterman

  • 2nd Place: Ethan Chaves, Charlton, violin student of James Buswell.
  • 3rd Place (tie): Alyssa Guo, Shrewsbury, piano student of Faina Kofman, & Anushka Mukhopadhyay, Shrewsbury, piano student of Eleanor McLaughlin.
  • Honorable mention encouragement awards given to Daniel Joh Kang of Shrewsbury, violin student of Yulia Zhuravleva, & Max Yan of Shrewsbury, clarinet student of Vladimir Vaskevich.


Senior Division, May 5

 ·         1st Place (tie): Grace Betry of Fitchburg, piano student of Roy Imperio, & Sophie Chen, Shrewsbury,  piano student of Faina Kofman.  This is the top prize category.

  • [no 2nd Place award given]
  • 3rd Place (tie): Joseph Wang, Shrewsbury, viola student of Michael Zaretsky, & Ahana Mukhopadhyay, Shrewsbury, piano student of Eleanor McLaughlin.


Music Worcester wishes to thank our judges for their participation and expertise:   Junior Division: Sarah Kelly, Yulia Zhuravleva, and Prof. Eunmi Shim.

Senior Division: Prof. Douglas Weeks, Prof. Christi Nigro, and Joyce Tamer.